Flexible Cooking. 

I had ingredients purchased to make several different salads and tacos for this week. That sounded great to be because it the weather was in the 70s and we were playing outside all day. But then it snowed. Good for the planet and all bad for my meal plan. I make a meal plan once a week and then do my shopping based on that. I try to just go to the store once a week. There isn’t a lot of flexibility in my plan. I talk to friends who just shop and buy staples and what’s on sale and then figure it out. I wish I was more like that!! I cook from recipies 90% of the time. I wasn’t always like that. Before we became vegetarians I had more dishes I would cook without but I don’t seem to do the almost ever anymore. I’m going to try to get back to it.

I have so many food plans! I want to become an expert bread maker. I want to stop buying anything processed and make our own everything – ketchup, pasta, peanut butter etc. I want (and need) to decrease our grocery budget. Like a lot. So I’m breaking up with While Foods. For now. We will see how it goes. 

But I digress. My meal plan was no longer appealing so I made some changes and picked up a few more things so I could have some warm comfort food. 

Mexican Quinoa Stew
This. This was shockingly delicious and unbelievably easy. And vegan. I mean come on! I need to buy her book. I subscribed to her blog. But I sort of love cookbooks. Anyway this is worth cooking. We had it with avocados and tortilla chips on top and quesadillas on the side. A salad would have also been great. 


Crusty Baked Cauliflower and Farro

Smitten Kitchen never disappoints. This was very tasty. However the cheese was expensive. Also, this is one you want to eat right when you make it. Nice and crunchy. I would make this again if we had friends over and we’re going to eat it all up in one sitting. We had it with a salad. The children did not like/want/taste it. 


Sweet Potato and Green Rice Bowls
Tonight’s dinner. I’m looking forward to it. I love the additions to the rice. 

Leave a Reply

